children-on-stepsI just needed to make a quick run to pay the electric. So after lunch I stood waiting for the public transport. A new looking bus I’d never seen before pulled up, and there standing at the door, holding the money was a young boy (probably 7 or 8).

This wasn’t the first time I’d seen a young kid running the door of the bus, (calling out where the bus is headed, and taking money when people get off.) But this one tugged on my heart.

He was filthy, and small, and all I wanted to do was take him home and give him a good scrub, feed him til his belly was full, get him an education, and tell Him of the One who loves Him most.

All such small things, that most kids receive daily, but not all.

Later after paying the electric bill, I was walking to the main road to catch a tempo, when I saw an even younger boy, walking along the dirt path. He had stopped to readjust the large sack he was carrying upon his back. And once again, my heart was torn. The bag was bigger than he was, and yet he hoisted it upon his shoulder, and continued to walk.

Sights like these, unfortunately, are far from uncommon here.

That night as I related these things to my family as we sat down for dinner, my eyes teared up. As I reminded myself and my kids how much we have to be thankful for. Food to eat, beds to sleep in, clothes to wear, even education.

I told my kids, that I’m sure those kids would jump at the chance to get an education, and yet they are no allowed. Simply because their families can’t afford to buy the supplies and uniforms. Or because their families need them to work, so they can have food that night.

The truth is, we all have things in which we can be thankful for. Though we may not have the latest gadget, we don’t all get the fancy vacations, or dress in the latest fashions. This is all trivial to what most experience each day.

So, today, I encourage you as the Lord encouraged me, to count your blessings, and name them one by one.  We all have reason to give thanks!

