reckless abandonToday I heard the news that Elisabeth Elliot had died at the age of 88. And I thought to myself, that was a life well lived.

I can remember years ago hearing for the first time of the martyrdom of the five men who willingly gave their lives to reach the Aucas with the Gospel. And as I read Elisabeth Elliot’s account of this in “Through Gates of Splendor.” I too felt compelled to go wherever the Lord would send me.

It was through the remarkable stories of women like Elisabeth Elliot, Gladys Aylward, Lottie Moon, Mary Slessor, and Isobel Khun that led me to be where I am today, serving my Lord on the foreign field.

What many saw as a waste of five young men, who gave their lives to reach the Aucas. God saw as an opportunity to show HIMSELF great, and He used this to lead so many others to give their lives to Him. Calling so many to the mission field.

Even after the death of her husband, Elisabeth and the other ladies remained seeking to reach those who had killed their husbands. This is an amazing act of love.

The truth is, God hasn’t called us to an easy life. He hasn’t told us to follow Him and life will be easy. Instead He has said, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself, take up his cross and follow me.” “If anyone wants to save his life, he must lose his life.”

Elisabeth Elliot was one who understood this call and lived a life well lived. Oh I’m sure she wasn’t perfect, I’m sure she struggled just like we all do.

Yet, God used her to call many ladies into ministry, and to lead many to the ends of the earth.

Growing up, I loved to read missionary biographies. I still do! Her’s was one of the first I read, leading me to hunger for more.

Leading me eventually to go myself.

Jim Elliot once said, “wherever you are, be all there.”

This applies to each of us. No matter where God has placed you, be it as a stay at home mom, a teacher, a nurse, a missionary… wherever God has you, be all there.

For you may never know this side of eternity how God can and will use you… but if you live each day for Him, you too will have lived a life well lived.

May this be our aim. May this be our goal.

So that on That Day, we will hear, “Well done my good and faithful servant.” As I’m sure Elisabeth Elliot did on June 15, 2015.

elisabeth elliot

