This is  my new motto for life on the mission field.

I must adjust, adapt or I should definitely go home.

In my mind, I know how I expect things to turn out.

I have a misguided notion that my way of doing things is the right way.

But I am learning that this is not the way of life on the other side of the world.

My western mindset is different from the eastern mindset.

Though I’m in a hurry for things to take place, they are more laid back.

Though if I say I’m going to do something, I do it. And if I can’t do it, I apologize.

Yet, here it’s all about saving shame. So often you are told one thing, but then the opposite is done.

It is enough sometimes t make you want to pull out your hair.

However, I’m learning to just let it go.

Thus my new motto, adjust, adapt or go home.

I can’t expect things to happen as I think is best. I can’t expect the culture to change around my needs.

I can’t expect life to be easy and go as planned.

I can’t and I won’t, or I will not survive.

A great missionary beatitudes goes as follows,  “Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not break”

I’m only learning how true this is.

High expectations will break you.

So when the repairman doesn’t show up like he said he would.

I can be frustrated or let it go.

When things don’t go as I think they should.

I can crumble (which I have) or let it go.

When someone says one thing and does another.

It is best to just  let it go.

I think this is a vital lesson every missionary has to learn and I’m still learning.

This life, it is not about me or about my comfort or happiness.

This life, is about dying daily to myself and allowing the joy of the Lord to be my strength.

Things will go wrong, bad days will come, needs will go unmet.

But God is on His throne and He is good.

I can rejoice in Him and have joy.

On the plane ride on the way over here, we sat by and talked with another missionary couple to Thailand.

I asked her what is your one piece of advice.

She said and I quote, “The joy of the Lord must be your strength.”

I’m finding out just how right she was.

Because no matter how bad it gets, no one can take my joy.

For it comes from the Lord.

So I will adjust and I will adapt. I will not go home.

Because the Lord has called me here to be His hands and His feet.

And though it can be hard, He is with me.

Strengthening me and helping me, giving me great joy.

But only when I take my eyes off the situation at hand and place them upon Him.

 

